Advisory Boards


Attorney William Carline, Attleboro
Kathleen Carney-Larisa, Executive Director, Carney Family Charitable Foundation, New Bedford
Rev. Paul Caron, Pastor, St. Anthony Parish, Mattapoisett, and St. Rita Parish, Marion
Nicholas M. Christ, President and CEO, BayCoast Bank, Swansea
Rev. David Costa, Pastor, Sacred Heart and St. Mary Parishes, North Attleboro and Director of St. Mary-Sacred Heart School
Rev. Thomas Costa, Pastor, Annunciation of the Lord Parish, Taunton, and Director of Our Lady of Lourdes School, Taunton
Rev. John Denning, C.S.C., President, Stonehill College, Easton
Kevin Kiley, Chancellor, Fall River Diocese
Janet Letourneau, Practioner Faculty in Marketing, Providence College
Jean MacCormack, Ph.D., former Chancellor, UMass-Dartmouth
Rev. Jay Maddock, Pastor, Holy Name Parish, Fall River, and Director of Holy Name School
Steven Perla, Superintendent of Schools, Fall River Diocese
Rev. Christopher Peschel, Parochial Vicar, St. Pius X Parish, South Yarmouth
Hosffman Ospino, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Hispanic Ministry and Religious Education, Boston College
Nichole Rich, Ph.D., Educational Consultant, Norton
Roger Sullivan, St. Pius X School Advisory Board Member, South Yarmouth

The Church’s Code of Canon Law requires that a College of Consultors be in place in every diocese to serve as an advisory body to the Bishop. Its membership is constituted by not less than six or more than twelve priests appointed by the Bishop from among membership of the Presbyteral Council for a period of five years. The functions of the College are dictated by a variety of canons of the Code and pertain primarily to matters of diocesan governance and administration.

Rev. Msgr. Stephen J. Avila, V.F.
Rev. Paul E. Canuel
Very Rev. Gregory A. Mathias, V.G.
Rev. Arnold R. Medeiros
Rev. John M. Murray
Rev. John J. Oliveira
Very Rev. Timothy P. Reis


Most Reverend Edgar M. da Cunha, S.D.V., Bishop of Fall River
Paula A. Freitas
Atty. David T. Gay
Richard A. Kelley
E. Dennis Kelly, Jr.
Kevin R. Kiley, Chancellor/CFO, Fall River Diocese
Dennis F. Leahy, CPA
Reverend Michael K. McManus
Reverend John Murray
Sandra Sevigney
Reverend Richard D. Wilson, Vicar General, Fall River Diocese

Canon 511 of the Code of Canon Law states that, “In every diocese and to the extent that pastoral circumstances suggest it, a pastoral council is to be constituted.” According to the Canon, its function, under the authority of the bishop, is to study and weigh those matters which concern the pastoral works of the diocese and to propose practical conclusions concerning them.

Diocesan Pastoral Council Members

Attleboro Deanery:
Margaret Keenan, St. John the Evengelist Parish, Attleboro
Richard Palanza, St. Mary Parish, Mansfield

Cape Cod Deanery:
John Dellamorte, Corpus Christi Parish, East Sandwich
Diane Morris, St. Pius X Parish, South Yarmouth
Brian Wall, Holy Trinity Parish, West Harwich

Fall River Deanery:
Nicholas Christ, Holy Name Parish, Fall River
Breda McCarty, St. Thomas More Parish, Somerset
Kathleen St. Laurent, St. Thomas More Parish, Somerset
Philip Silvia, Jr, Holy Name Parish, Fall River

New Bedford Deanery:
Debora Brum, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, New Bedford (representing the Portuguese Community)
Norma Colon, Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish at St. James, New Bedford (representing the Hispanic Community)
Barbara Parnell, St. Julie Billiart Parish, North Dartmouth

Taunton Deanery:
Kathleen Graziano, St. Andrew the Apostle Parish, Taunton
Peter Marshall, St. Ann Parish, Raynham

Diaconate Community:
Deacon Frank Fantasia, Christ the King Parish, Mashpee

Ex Officio:
Most Reverend Edgar M. da Cunha, S.D.V., Bishop of Fall River
Very Rev. Gregory Mathias, Vicar General, Fall River Diocese
Rev. John M. Murray, Moderator of the Curia, Fall River Diocese

The Presbyteral (or Priests’) Council is a principal consultative body mandated by the Code of Canon Law to advise the Bishop in matters of pastoral governance. The Council meets regularly to discuss issues and to offer its counsel to the Bishop. Membership consists of priests elected by their peers, appointed by the Bishop, and ex officio.

Most Reverend Edgar M. da Cunha, S.D.V., Bishop of Fall River

Chairman: Very Rev. Jay T. Maddock, V.F.

Vice Chairman/Treasurer: TBA

Secretary: TBA

Ex Officio:
Very Rev. Gregory Mathias, Vicar General
Rev. John M. Murray, Moderator of the Curia

Terms expiring August 31, 2019
Very Rev. Daniel W. Lacroix, V.F., Attleboro Deanery
Rev. Msgr. Stephen J. Avila, V.F., Cape Cod Deanery
Very Rev. Jay T. Maddock, V.F., Fall River Deanery
Very Rev. Paul A. Caron, V.F. New Bedford Deanery
Very Rev. Richard E. Degagne, V.F., Taunton Deanery

Elected and Appointed:

Terms expiring June 30, 2017
Rev. John J. Oliveira (appointed)
Rev. Richard D. Wilson (appointed)

Terms expiring June 30, 2018
Rev. Paul E. Canuel (retired)
Rev. Timothy J. Goldrick (1967-1974)
Rev. Mark R. Hession (1979-1985)
Rev. William M. Rodrigues (1996-2001)

Terms expiring June 30, 2019
Rev. Arnold R. Medeiros (1975-1978)
Rev. Edward J. Healey (1986-1995)
Rev. Jay Mello (2001-2015)
Rev. David Lupo, SS.CC. (Religious)

Task Force Members

Debora Brum
Norma Colon
Rev. David A. Costa
Rev. Richard E. Degagne
John Dellamorte
Deacon Frank D. Fantasia
Kathleen Graziano
Rev. Leonard P. Hindsley
Margaret M. Keenan
Deacon Frank R. Lucca
Peter Marshall
Breda L. McCarty
Richard Palanza
Kathleen St. Laurent
Brian Wall

Contact Us

450 Highland Avenue
PO Box 2577
Fall River, MA 02722

Phone: 508-675-1311