print document




887 Highland Ave. · P.O. Box 7 · Fall River, MA 02722 · Tel. 508-675-0211 · FAX 508-675-5204



News Release


November 10, 2008






FALL RIVER — Bishop George W. Coleman will award Marian Medals to 83 laypersons from parishes throughout the Fall River Diocese at 3 p.m. this Sunday, November 16, at the Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, 327 Second Street, Fall River


First presented in 1968, the annual award recognizes members of diocesan parishes for their dedicated service to the Church.  Recipients are nominated for the award by their pastor.


The medals will be blessed and presented during a ceremony of Mid-Afternoon Prayer and Eucharistic Adoration and Benediction.


Made of sterling silver, the Marian Medal is embossed with a Miraculous Medal on one side and the Fall River Diocesan coat-of-arms on the other.


The Marian Medal recipients for 2008 are listed below by deanery or area.


Attleboro Deanery


John F. Birch, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Attleboro; George Henri Brousseau, St. Joseph Parish, Attleboro; Colleen Buckley, St. Mary Parish, North Attleboro; John Craveiro, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, Seekonk; Robert Desrosiers, St. Stephen Parish, Attleboro; Shelah A. Gaudet, St. Mary Parish, Seekonk; Charlotte Goulet, Sacred Heart Parish, North Attleboro; Kevan Higgins, St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Parish, Attleboro; Mary Leddy, St. Mark Parish, Attleboro Falls; Patricia Phillips, St. Mary Parish, Mansfield; and Mary Elizabeth Yelle, St. Mary Parish, Norton.


Cape Cod & Islands Deanery


Megan Alley, Good Shepherd Parish, Martha’s Vineyard; Lee E. Bourgoin, St. Patrick Parish, Falmouth; Lawrence K. Burke, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, Osterville; Beverly A. Camerlengo, St. Pius X Parish, South Yarmouth; Mary A. Daly, Christ the King Parish, Mashpee; Maria Filliman, St. Joan of Arc Parish, Orleans; Jon A. Glydon, Our Lady of Victory Parish, Centerville; J. Ward Harrigan, Corpus Christi Parish, East Sandwich; Elizabeth D. Henry, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Pocasset; Marcel LaRue, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Hyannis; Harry Mantos, Holy Trinity Parish, W. Harwich; Marjorie Locke Noonan, St. Elizabeth Seton Parish, North Falmouth; John O’Callaghan, St. Anthony Parish, East Falmouth; Phillip J. Raneri, St. Mary/Our Lady of the Isle Parish, Nantucket; Jacqueline Rozza, St. Peter the Apostle Parish, Provincetown; Donna Scarnecchia, Our Lady of the Cape Parish, Brewster; and Norbert Timmins, Holy Redeemer Parish, Chatham.


Fall River Deanery


Maria Eduarda Araujo, Santo Christo Parish, Fall River; Aires Bettencourt, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, Fall River; Richard Camara, St. Mary Cathedral Parish, Fall River; Gilles J. Collins, Saints Peter and Paul Parish, Fall River; Duarte DaSilva, St. John of God Parish, Somerset; Raymond Edwin Garant, St. Joseph Parish, Fall River; Wayne Wendell Gray, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Swansea.


Philippe R. Gregoire, St. Anne Parish, Fall River; Louise Kaczynski, Immaculate Conception Parish, Fall River; William LeBlanc, St. Michael Parish, Fall River; Georgette Levesque, Notre Dame Parish, Fall River; Carol Levesque, St. Bernard Parish, Assonet; Hilda Medeiros, St. Dominic Parish, Swansea; Diane M. Mello, St. John the Baptist Parish, Westport; Evelyn Noone, Parish of the Holy Trinity, Fall River.


Betty Novacek, St. Patrick Parish, Somerset; Lucille Pimental, St. George Parish, Westport; Bert Raposo, Espirito Santo Parish, Fall River; Janice Rosa, Sacred Heart Parish, Fall River; Alphonse F. Saulino, St. Thomas More Parish, Somerset; Clotilde Simmons, Our Lady of Grace Parish, Westport; Michael Edward Toolin, St. Louis de France Parish, Swansea; Barbara Wenc, Holy Name Parish, Fall River; and Michael Zwolinski, St. Stanislaus Parish, Fall River.


New Bedford Deanery


Henry J. Barros, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, New Bedford; Martha Bisaillon, St. Joseph Parish, Fairhaven; Ronald Boivin, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, New Bedford; Jean Bonville, St. John Neumann Parish, East Freetown; Ernest Bourgeois, St. Julie Billiart Parish, North Dartmouth; Patricia DuBois, St. Rita Parish, Marion.


Jeanne Duggan, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Acushnet; Cecilia M. Felix, St. Lawrence Parish, New Bedford; Judith Fernandes, St. Mary Parish, South Dartmouth; Julie Gomes, St. Patrick Parish, Wareham; Albert J. Hall, Jr., St. Joseph-St. Therese Parish, New Bedford; Mary Healey, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, New Bedford; Deborah Houle, Holy Name of the Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish, New Bedford.


Thad Irzyk, Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, New Bedford; Claudette LeBlanc, Our Lady of Fatima Parish, New Bedford; Antonio Miguel, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, New Bedford; Kathleen C. Murphy, Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish at St. James Church, New Bedford; Manuel Negalha, Immaculate Conception Parish, New Bedford; Maria Fatima Pacheco, St. John the Baptist Parish, New Bedford; Frank A. Rezendes, St. Anthony Parish, Mattapoisett; Roger R. Savaria, St. Mary Parish, New Bedford; and Evelyn R. Sylvia, St. Mary Parish, Fairhaven.


Taunton Deanery


Jose Correia, St. Anthony Parish, Taunton; Merle T. Coughlin, Holy Family Parish, East Taunton; Fran Frias, St. Mary Parish, Taunton; Norbert Graca, St. Nicholas of Myra Parish, North Dighton; Roy Owens, Holy Cross Parish, South Easton; Stephanie Slapik, Holy Rosary Parish, Taunton; Maria Carmen Sousa, Annunciation of the Lord Parish, Taunton; Donald L. Switzer, Immaculate Conception Parish, North Easton; and Arthur T. Whittemore, St. Ann Parish, Raynham.