print document




887 Highland Ave. P.O. Box 7 Fall River, MA 02722 Tel. 508-675-0211 FAX 508-675-5204


News Release


November 15, 2012






FALL RIVER Bishop George W. Coleman will award the Marian Medal to 79 laypersons from parishes throughout the Fall River Diocese at 3 p.m. on Sunday, November 18, at the Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, 327 Second Street, Fall River.


First presented in 1968, the annual award recognizes members of diocesan parishes for their dedicated service to the Church.  Recipients are nominated for the award by their pastor.


The medals will be blessed and presented during a ceremony of Mid-Afternoon Prayer and Eucharistic Adoration and Benediction.


Made of sterling silver, the Marian Medal is embossed with a Miraculous Medal on one side and the Fall River Diocesan coat-of-arms on the other.


The Marian Medal recipients for 2012 are listed below by deanery or area.


Attleboro Deanery


Marjorie Andrews, St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Parish, South Attleboro; Ernest Joseph Collamati, Sacred Heart Parish, North Attleboro; Barbara Ann Craveiro, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, Seekonk; Humberto Faria, Holy Ghost Parish, Attleboro; Michael H. Hebert, St. Joseph Parish, Attleboro; George N. Kayata, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Attleboro; Frederick E. Kelley, St. Mary Parish, Norton; Joan Kelley, St. Mary Parish, Mansfield; Donald McHoul, St. Mary Parish, North Attleboro; Bernard Pearson, Our Lady Queen of Martyrs Parish, Seekonk; and Francoise Rogers, St. Mark Parish, Attleboro Falls.


Cape Cod & Islands Deanery


Thomas Craddock, St. Mary/Our Lady of the Isle Parish, Nantucket; Jacqueline Dufresne, Our Lady of the Cape Parish, Brewster; Robert Harry Fenney, Holy Trinity Parish, West Harwich; Marian Goveia, St. Peter the Apostle Parish, Provincetown; Charles H. Kelliher, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Hyannis; Barbara A. MacKinnon, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Pocasset; Nancy McEnaney, St. Joan of Arc Parish, Orleans; June Meckel, Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Wellfleet; William Pansire, Corpus Christi Parish, East Sandwich; Cathy Pina, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, Osterville; Mary Ellen Powers, St. Elizabeth Seton Parish, North Falmouth; Florence Remillard, St. Patrick Parish, Falmouth; Richard Reilly, Christ the King Parish, Mashpee; Paulino Rodrigues, St. Anthony Parish, East Falmouth; Nancy Ronayne, Our Lady of Victory Parish, Centerville; John Stegeman, St. Joseph Parish, Woods Hole; Constance Teixeira, Good Shepherd Parish, Vineyard Haven; Anne Marie Timmins, Holy Redeemer Parish, Chatham; and Fernando L. Tuano, St. Pius X Parish, South Yarmouth.


Fall River Deanery


Joan Brenckle, St. John the Baptist Parish, Westport; Joan Burda, Parish of the Good Shepherd, Fall River; Normand A. Charest, St. George Parish, Westport; Mary Chaves, St. Dominic Parish, Swansea; Jeannine Conroy, St. Bernard Parish, Assonet; Emilia Creador, St. Michael Parish, Fall River; Manuel Costa Galego, Santo Christo Parish, Fall River; Barbara Anne Gerraughty, Holy Name Parish, Fall River; Natalie King, Our Lady of Grace Parish, Westport; Eleanor Kitchen, Sts. Peter and Paul Parish, Fall River;


Manuel S. Leonardo, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, Fall River; Alice Levesque, St. Bernadette Parish, Fall River; Charles Glenn MacIntyre, Parish of the Holy Trinity, Fall River; Urban Medeiros, Sacred Heart Parish, Fall River; Doris Pytel, St. Patrick Parish, Somerset; Stephen Rebello, Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption Parish, Fall River; Jose Silva, Espirito Santo Parish, Fall River; Kathleen St. Laurent, St. Thomas More Parish, Somerset; Diane Tremblay, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Swansea; Thomas Wrobel, St. Stanislaus Parish, Fall River; and Elaine Yentz, St. Joseph Parish, Fall River;


New Bedford Deanery


Diane Baron, St. Mary Parish, New Bedford; Mary Barron, St. Rita Parish, Marion; Marjorie Bourgeois, St. Mary Parish, South Dartmouth; Olga Cardullo, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, New Bedford; Ester Carreiro, St. Julie Billiart Parish, North Dartmouth; Lillian R. Desrosiers, St. Mary Parish, Fairhaven; Donald J. Fleming, St. Anthony Parish, Mattapoisett; Claire Gordon, St. Patrick Parish, Wareham; Mary Hadley, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Acushnet; Donald Houle, Holy Name of the Sacred Heart Parish, New Bedford; Charles Johnson, St. John Neumann Parish, East Freetown;


Alice Leblanc, St. Joseph-St. Therese Parish, New Bedford; Ludmila Lyczewska, Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, New Bedford; Monique Marshall, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, New Bedford; Paul Pacheco, Our Lady of Fatima Parish, New Bedford; Jacinto Pacheco, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, New Bedford; George Soares, Immaculate Conception Parish, New Bedford; Donald Spooner, St. Joseph Parish, Fairhaven, Suzanne M. Sullivan, St. Lawrence Martyr Parish, New Bedford; and Judith Vasquez, Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish at St. James Church, New Bedford.


Taunton Deanery


Alice Boivin, St. Jude the Apostle Parish, Taunton; William J. Breen, St. Andrew the Apostle Parish, Taunton; Raymond Butts, St. Mary Parish, Taunton; Eleanor DeMello, St. Ann Parish, Raynham; Elizabeth Laranjo, Annunciation of the Lord Parish, Taunton; Manuel Oliveira, St. Anthony Parish, Taunton; Barbara Rutherford, Holy Family Parish, East Taunton; and Robert W. Sullivan, Holy Cross Parish, South Easton.