FALL RIVER — Bishop Edgar M. da Cunha, S.D.V., will award the Marian Medal to 66 members of parishes from throughout the Fall River Diocese at 3 p.m. on Sunday, December 4, at the Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, 327 Second Street, Fall River.

First presented in 1968, the annual award recognizes members of diocesan parishes for their dedicated service to the Church. Recipients are nominated for the award by their pastor.

The medals will be blessed and presented in the context of Evening Prayer of the Church and Eucharistic Adoration and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament.

Made of sterling silver, the Marian Medal is embossed with a Miraculous Medal on one side and the Fall River Diocesan coat-of-arms on the other.

The Marian Medal Awards Ceremony will be streamed live on the diocesan Facebook page beginning at 3 p.m. on December 4. Please visit www.facebook.com/fallriverdiocese.

The Marian Medal recipients for 2022 are listed below by deanery or area.

Attleboro Deanery

Gary R. Alaownis, Our Lady Queen of Martyrs Parish, Seekonk; Catherine Cote, St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Parish, South Attleboro; Shirley A. Hamel, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Attleboro; Ron J. Larose, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, Seekonk; Cheryl A. McFaun, St. Mary Parish, Norton; Janet S. Pion, Transfiguration of the Lord Parish, North Attleboro; and Janet Ryan, St. Mary Parish, Mansfield.

Cape Cod & Islands Deanery

Doug Allen, St. Peter the Apostle Parish, Provincetown; David G. Andrews, Sr., Good Shepherd Parish, Vineyard Haven; Roland W. Breault, Christ the King Parish, Mashpee; Susan Broadbent, Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Wellfleet; Ernie Charette, Our Lady of Victory Parish, Centerville; William Duggan, Corpus Christi Parish, East Sandwich; George E. Finn, Jr., St. Pius X Parish, South Yarmouth; Rock D. Gonnella, St. Mary/Our Lady of the Isle Parish, Nantucket; Carol A. Hickey, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, Osterville; Susan Leonard, St. Margaret of Scotland Parish, Buzzards Bay; James M. McGoldrick, St. Joseph, Guardian of the Holy Family Parish, East Falmouth; Kathleen O’Grady, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Pocasset; Lisa M. Scapellati, St. Joan of Arc Parish, Orleans; Ralph Silvester, Holy Redeemer Parish, Chatham; and Emma Jo Smith, Holy Trinity Parish, West Harwich.

Fall River Deanery

Sr. Lorraine Beauchesne, OP, St. Mary Cathedral Parish, Fall River; Louise Belanger, Our Lady of Peace Parish, Somerset; Joan A. Clark, Holy Trinity Parish, Fall River; Diane L. Forti, Our Lady of Grace Parish, Westport; Luiz Frias, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, Fall River; Norman J. Lamontagne, Jr., St. George Parish, Westport; Amy V. Lawton, St. John the Baptist Parish, Westport; Conceição A. Medeiros, St. John of God Parish, Somerset; Deborah A. Mello, Holy Name Parish, Fall River; Karen L. Nunes, St. Dominic Parish, Swansea; Maria J. Pereira, Santo Christo Parish, Fall River;

Mary Ann Pietraszek, St. Stanislaus Parish, Fall River; Stephen J. Rivard, St. Joseph Parish, Fall River; Antone Roderigues, Jr., St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Swansea; Robert P. Rozycki, Good Shepherd Parish, Fall River; Mark F. Sevigney, Jr., St. Bernard Parish, Assonet Village; Maria L. Vieira, St. Michael Parish, Fall River; and Hermano Viveiros, Espirito Santo Parish, Fall River.

New Bedford Deanery

George Andrade, Jr., St. Patrick Parish, Wareham; Frank A. Cafarella, St. Rita of Cascia, Marion; Eric R. Corrie, St. Gabriel the Archangel Parish, New Bedford; Maria Z. da Costa, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Acushnet; Joyce A. Iddon, St. Mary Parish, Fairhaven; Susan E. Kennefick, St. Joseph Parish, Fairhaven; Louise E. Lake, St. Julie Billiart Parish, North Dartmouth; John Machado, St. Mary Parish, Dartmouth; Esperanza Mañon, Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish, New Bedford;

John A. Markey, Jr., St. Francis of Assisi Parish, New Bedford; Kathleen A. McKenna, Holy Name of the Sacred Heart Parish, New Bedford; David Moniz, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, New Bedford; Matthew W. Nowick, St. Lawrence Martyr Parish, New Bedford; Gisele Pappas, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, New Bedford; Fred M. Tuffile, St. John Neumann Parish, East Freetown; and John L. Vaughn, St. Anthony Parish, Mattapoisett.

Taunton Deanery

Richard A. Alvarnaz, St. Andrew the Apostle Parish, Taunton; Penelope S. Brennan, Holy Cross Parish, South Easton; Humberto Correia, St. Anthony Parish, Taunton; Brian Cote, St. Mary Parish, Taunton; Maureen Delaney, Annunciation of the Lord Parish, Taunton; Joyce Ehrenzweig, St. Jude the Apostle Parish, Taunton; Mary M. Keough-Anderson, Immaculate Conception Parish, North Easton; Theodore F. Lippold, Holy Family Parish, East Taunton; Ed Mahoney, St. Ann Parish, Raynham; and Lloyd D. Simpson, St. Nicholas of Myra Parish, North Dighton.

O Reverendíssimo Edgar M. da Cunha, S.D.V., D.D.
O Reverendíssimo Edgar M. da Cunha, S.D.V., D.D.
The Bishop of Fall River