FALL RIVER — Fifty-four young persons from parishes throughout the Fall River Diocese will receive the Pope Saint Pius X Youth Award from Bishop George W. Coleman in the context of a 7 p.m. prayer service on Tuesday, May 6, at St. Mary’s Cathedral in Fall River.

The annual award, named for the pontiff who created the Fall River Diocese in 1904 and presented for the first time in 2001, recognizes teens who serve their parish community with selflessness, commitment and dedication.

Nominated for the honor by their pastor, recipients are active in a variety of ministries and programs within their parishes. Some are lectors, Eucharistic ministers, teachers in parish religious education programs; others are altar servers, leaders in youth groups, and members of retreat teams.

Pope St. Pius X Youth Award recipients must have already received the Sacrament of Confirmation, be at least a sophomore in high school and not older than 19. Recipients will participate in the award prayer service, offering readings, intercessory prayers and reflections.

The following is a list of the Pope St. Pius X Youth Award recipients and their parishes by deanery.

Attleboro Deanery

Monica A. Curtin, St. Mary Parish, Mansfield; Mary G. Day, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, Seekonk; Korey J. Dufault, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Attleboro; Andrew J. Forte, St. Mary Parish, North Attleboro; Emily Horan, St. Mark Parish, Attleboro Falls; Timothy Legg, Sacred Heart Parish, North Attleboro; Cory Rebello, St. Vincent de Paul Parish, Attleboro; and Collin P. Walter, St. Mary Parish, Norton.

Cape Cod Deanery

Mary G. Burke, Christ the King Parish, Mashpee; Shaelyn K. Calvey, St. Margaret Parish, Buzzards Bay; Kezia S. Duarte, St. Mary-Our Lady of the Isle Parish, Nantucket; Joshua B. Ford, St. Joan of Arc Parish, Orleans; Peter Z. Hartnett, Corpus Christi Parish, E. Sandwich; Liam Loiselle, Our Lady of Victory Parish, Centerville; Kevin P. Nicolai, Holy Redeemer Parish, Chatham; Katelin E. Oberlander, St. Pius X Parish, South Yarmouth; Sarah A. Peninger, Holy Trinity Parish, West Harwich; Sean Quinn, St. Elizabeth Seton Parish, North Falmouth; Molly P. Shanahan, Our Lady of the Cape Parish, Brewster; Rory P. Trimble, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Hyannis; and Emily S. Turner, St. Patrick Parish, Falmouth.

Fall River Deanery

Sierra N. Aguiar, St. Michael Parish, Fall River; Xavier R. Faria, St. Bernard Parish, Assonet; Sara Ferreira, St. Dominic Parish, Swansea; Matthew T. Gagnon, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Swansea; Sean Galego, Sacred Heart Parish, Fall River; Jameson T. Hughes, St. John the Baptist Parish, Westport; Matthew J. Machado, Santo Christo Parish, Fall River; Anthony J. Mahoney-Pacheco, Holy Name Parish, Fall River; Jillian Sargent, St. Patrick Parish, Somerset; Cameron Souza, St. Joseph Parish, Fall River; Gabrielle Souza, St. Thomas More Parish, Somerset; Shawn Szczupak, St. Stanislaus Parish, Fall River; and Thomas Zmuda, Good Shepherd Parish, Fall River.

New Bedford Deanery

Shashawna S. Amaral, Our Lady of Guadalupe at St. James Parish, New Bedford; Samantha H. Correia, St. Joseph Parish, Fairhaven; Mayse M. Dias, St. Lawrence Martyr Parish, New Bedford; Raquel M. Ferreira, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, New Bedford; Victoria Johnson, St. John Neumann Parish, East Freetown; Frederick M. Kalisz, III, Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, New Bedford; Taylor Markey, Our Lady of Fatima Parish, New Bedford; Luke McGraw, St. Mary Parish, Fairhaven; Allison M. Paiva, St. Julie Billiart Parish, North Dartmouth; Bessy P. Rivas, St. Kilian Parish, New Bedford; Brett M. Santos, St. Mary Parish, South Dartmouth; Giovanni Sequeira, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, New Bedford; and Andrew Tricker, St. Patrick Parish, Wareham.

Taunton Deanery

Jacquelyn R. Bechtel, Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception Parish, North Easton; Ashley Correia, Annunciation of the Lord Parish, Taunton; Meghan Dunne, Holy Cross Parish, South Easton; Evangelos Mines, St. Ann Parish, Raynham; Joseph Silveira, St. Anthony Parish, Taunton; Joshua Tibbels, St. Nicholas of Myra Parish, North Dighton; and Jazmin L. Wallace, Holy Family Parish, East Taunton.

Diocese of Fall River
Diocese of Fall River
Office of Communications