FALL RIVER —Bishop Edgar M. da Cunha, S.D.V., will present the Pope Saint Pius X Youth Award to 57 young persons from parishes throughout the Fall River Diocese in the context of a prayer service at 7 p.m., Tuesday, May 8, at St. Mary’s Cathedral in Fall River.

The annual award, named for the pontiff who created the Fall River Diocese in 1904 and presented for the first time in 2001, recognizes teens who serve their parish community with selflessness, commitment and dedication.

Nominated for the honor by their pastor, recipients are active in a variety of ministries and programs within their parishes. Some are lectors, Eucharistic ministers, teachers in parish religious education programs; others are altar servers, leaders in youth groups, and members of retreat teams.

Pope St. Pius X Youth Award recipients must have already received the Sacrament of Confirmation, be at least a sophomore in high school and not older than 19. Recipients will participate in the award prayer service, offering readings, intercessory prayers and reflections.

Those honored with the 2018 Pope St. Pius X Youth Award and their parishes are listed below by deanery.

Attleboro Deanery

Kevin Baker, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Attleboro; Maura Crump, St .Mark Parish, Attleboro Falls; Abigail E. Hare, St. Mary Parish, North Attleboro; Kira F. Hellard, St. Mary Parish, Mansfield; Isabella Herman, St. Mary Parish, Norton; Abigael R. LaFleur, Our Lady Queen of Martyrs Parish, Seekonk; Lily A Nguyen, St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Parish, Attleboro; Thomas H. Rinkacs, Sacred Heart Parish, North Attleboro; and Benjamin Wheeler, St. Vincent de Paul Parish, Attleboro.

Cape Cod Deanery

Colby August, Our Lady of Victory Parish, Centerville; Lucille A. Bresette, St. Mary-Our Lady of the Isle Parish, Nantucket; Eilish C. Dillon, St. Pius X Parish, South Yarmouth; Elizabeth M. Ednie, Our Lady of the Cape Parish, Brewster; Melissa C. Ham, St. Anthony Parish, East Falmouth; Isabel Heard, St. Patrick Parish, Falmouth; Hannah R. Laird, Christ the King Parish, Mashpee; Christopher McGuire, St. Margaret Parish, Buzzards Bay; Maria D. Miller, Corpus
Christi Parish, East Sandwich; and Jeremiah Tessier, St. Joan of Arc Parish, Orleans.

Fall River Deanery

Jacob W. Biello, St. Patrick Parish, Somerset; Jonathan Cabral, St. Louis de France Parish, Swansea; Luke Cabral, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, Fall River; Abigail Cadorette, St. Thomas More Parish, Somerset; Aliyah Cioe, St. Mary’s Cathedral Parish, Fall River; Shayne Dias, Good Shepherd Parish, Fall River; Noah A. Gagnon, St. John the Baptist Parish, Westport; Maya M. Joncas, St. Bernard Parish, Assonet; Elijah P. LaCroix, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Swansea; Andrew Leger, St. George Parish, Westport; Mary Mahoney-Pacheco, Holy Name Parish, Fall River; Carley Medeiros, St. Stanislaus Parish, Fall River; Brady Mello, St. Joseph Parish, Fall River; Adam T. Moniz, Our Lady of Grace Parish, Westport; Nicholas E. Rachel, St. Bernadette Parish, Fall River; Christian Resendes, St. Michael Parish, Fall River; and Jillian P. Wilson, St. Dominic Parish, Swansea.

New Bedford Deanery

Emma M. Bernier, St. Julie Billiart Parish, Dartmouth; Andrew Carusi, Our Lady of Fatima Parish, New Bedford; Noah DeTerra, St. Joseph Parish, Fairhaven; Helena O. Farias, Immaculate Conception Parish, New Bedford; Tricia Fernandes, St. Lawrence Martyr Parish, New Bedford; Kyle Manny, St. John Neumann Parish, East Freetown; George V. Martin, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, New Bedford; Nina V. Medeiros, St. Mary Parish, Dartmouth; Alexander C. Moulding, St. Patrick Parish, Wareham; Abby-Lin C. Resendes, St. Mary Parish, New Bedford; Jake D. Riggs, St. Mary Parish, Fairhaven; Daniela Rivas, Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish, New Bedford; Joshua St. Pierre, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Acushnet; and Jadin M. Taylor, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, New Bedford

Taunton Deanery

Ifunanyachukio O. Akanegbu, Immaculate Conception Parish, North Easton; Madison R. Bissonnette, Holy Family Parish, East Taunton; Megan Gover, Annunciation of the Lord Parish, Taunton; Thomas E. Nichols, St. Anthony Parish, Taunton; Brandon Rodrigues, St. Mary Parish, Taunton; Garrett Sanderson, St. Nicholas of Myra Parish, North Dighton; and Lily C. Williams, Holy Cross Parish, South Easton

Diocese of Fall River
Diocese of Fall River
Office of Communications