FALL RIVER — Bishop Edgar M. da Cunha, S.D.V., will award the Marian Medal to 63 members of parishes from throughout the Fall River Diocese at 3 p.m. on Sunday, December 3, at the Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, 327 Second Street, Fall River.

  Marian Medal Award

First presented in 1968, the annual award recognizes diocesan parishioners for their dedicated service to the Church. Recipients are nominated for the award by their pastor.

Bishop da Cunha will bless and present the medals in the context of Evening Prayer of the Church and Eucharistic Adoration and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament.

Made of pewter, the Marian Medal is embossed with a Madonna and Child Jesus image on one side and the Fall River Diocesan coat-of-arms on the other.

The Marian Medal Awards Ceremony will be streamed live on the diocesan Facebook page beginning at 3 p.m. on December 3. Please visit www.facebook.com/fallriverdiocese.

The Marian Medal recipients for 2023 are listed below by deanery or area.

Attleboro Deanery

Rita L. Beaudet, Our Lady Queen of Martyrs Parish, Seekonk; Judy Ann Burgess, St. Mary Parish, Norton; Barbara A. Riccio, St. Mary Parish, Mansfield; Margaret Smith, Transfiguration of the Lord Parish, North Attleboro; Mary Viens, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Attleboro; and Nancy T. Vincent, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, Seekonk.

Cape Cod & Islands Deanery

Ann Bisenius, Our Lady of Victory Parish, Centerville; Eileen P. Cabral, St. Peter the Apostle Parish, Provincetown; Alison W. Collins, St. Joan of Arc Parish, Orleans; Mark Dennen, Holy Trinity Parish, West Harwich; James Gonet, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Pocasset; Gary E. Hildebrandt, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, Osterville; Deborah Journalist, Christ the King Parish, Mashpee; Suzanne Lawlor, Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Wellfleet; Madeline Manchuk, St. Pius X Parish, South Yarmouth; Judith A. McDonald, Holy Redeemer Parish, Chatham; Maria Isabel Melo, St. Joseph, Guardian of the Holy Family Parish, East Falmouth; Robert J. Monahan, Jr., St. Mary-Our Lady of the Isle Parish, Nantucket; Carol Pansire, Corpus Christi Parish, East Sandwich; Sergio E. Racigh, Good Shepherd Parish, Vineyard Haven; and Jean Roy, St. Margaret of Scotland Parish, Buzzards Bay.

Fall River Deanery

Alan Arruda, St. Joseph Parish, Fall River; Mary Biasotti, St. John the Baptist Parish, Westport; Deborah Cabral, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, Fall River; Daniel Croteau, Holy Trinity Parish, Fall River; Madelena DaSilva, Santo Christo Parish, Fall River; Mary Lou Furtado, Espirito Santo Parish, Fall River; Shelley Howard, St. Stanislaus Parish, Fall River; Frederick Joseph Kelley, Holy Name Parish, Fall River; Thomas McDermott, Our Lady of Grace Parish, Westport; Norma Jean McNally, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Swansea; Steven Mello, St. Bernard Parish, Assonet Village; Stephen R. Moniz, Our Lady of Peace Parish, Somerset; Lorena Oliveira, St. Michael Parish, Fall River; Antonia Ortiz, St. Mary’s Cathedral Parish, Fall River; Antone Pavao, St. Dominic Parish, Swansea; James Powers, St. John of God Parish, Somerset; Isabel Sousa, Good Shepherd Parish, Fall River; and Joseph Viveiros, St. George Parish, Westport.

New Bedford Deanery

Janet Ann Almeida, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, New Bedford; Mark Cabral, St. Mary Parish, Fairhaven; Gregory Centeio, Holy Name of the Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish, New Bedford; Helen Comeau, St. Julie Billiart Parish, Dartmouth; Jeanne Currin, St. Lawrence Martyr Parish, New Bedford; Dennis J. Desnoyers, St. Gabriel the Archangel Parish, New Bedford; Raymond Guillotte, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, New Bedford; Jason M. Hamel, St. Francis Xavier Parish Acushnet; Karen Howard, St. John Neumann Parish, East Freetown; Darlene A. Jusseaume, Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish at St. James Church, New Bedford; Joanne Marie Manley, St. Patrick Parish, Wareham; Barbara Norton, St. Mary Parish, Dartmouth; Renee Pothier, St. Anthony-St. Rita Parish, Mattapoisett; Maria de Lourdes Teixeira, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, New Bedford; and Tracy Ann Travers, St. Joseph Parish, Fairhaven.

Taunton Deanery

Nancy Ashworth, Holy Family Parish, East Taunton; Bruce Blunt, Annunciation of the Lord Parish, Taunton; Veronica Briggs, St. Andrew the Apostle Parish, Taunton; Nancy Brown, St. Nicholas of Myra Parish, North Dighton; Donna Clark, St. Ann Parish, Raynham; Jack DeLuca, Immaculate Conception Parish, North Easton; Carolyn Hoye, St. Jude the Apostle Parish, Taunton; Sheila McGrady, St. Mary Parish, Taunton; and Martin Reynolds, Holy Cross Parish, South Easton.

Diocese of Fall River
Diocese of Fall River
Office of Communications