Marian Medal1

FALL RIVER — Bishop Edgar M. da Cunha, S.D.V., will award the Marian Medal to 81 laypersons from parishes throughout the Fall River Diocese at 3 p.m. on Sunday, November 20, in the Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, 327 Second Street, Fall River.

First presented in 1968, the annual award recognizes members of diocesan parishes for their dedicated service to the Church.  Recipients are nominated for the award by their pastor.

The medals will be blessed and presented in the context of Evening Prayer of the Church and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament.

Made of sterling silver, the Marian Medal is embossed with a Miraculous Medal on one side and the Fall River Diocesan coat-of-arms on the other.

The Marian Medal Awards ceremony will also bring to a close the observance of the Holy Year of Mercy in the diocese as Bishop da Cunha leads participants through the designated “Holy Doors” of the Cathedral for the final time. This will be in be in union with the closing ceremony of the Holy Year at St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome presided over by Pope Francis on that day.

The Marian Medal recipients for 2016 are listed below by deanery or area.

Attleboro Deanery

Julie Benedetti, St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Parish, South Attleboro; Clara Charron, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Attleboro; Christine Duquette, St. Mark Parish, Attleboro Falls; Kathy Harum, St. Vincent de Paul Parish, Attleboro; Diana Humphrey, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, Seekonk; Francine L. Leary, St. Mary Parish, North Attleboro; Daniel A. Nolin, Sacred Heart Parish, North Attleboro; Paul Rego, Our Lady Queen of Martyrs Parish, Seekonk; and Charles M. Spath, St. Mary Parish, Mansfield.

Cape Cod & Islands Deanery

Kathleen Blais, St. Margaret Parish, Buzzards Bay; Maria de Los Angeles Calle, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Hyannis; Roberta Dwyer, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Pocasset; David A. Feindel, St. Mary/Our Lady of the Isle Parish, Nantucket; Mary Jane Gallerani, Corpus Christi Parish, East Sandwich; Ann Graham, Our Lady of Victory Parish, Centerville; Jane Greene, Our Lady of the Cape Parish, Brewster; Cathleen Henrique, St. Peter the Apostle Parish, Provincetown; Barbara Klapproth, St. Joan of Arc Parish, Orleans; Raymond McSweeney, Holy Trinity Parish, West Harwich; Bethel Norcross, Holy Redeemer Parish, Chatham; Margaret Penicaud, Good Shepherd Parish, Vineyard Haven, Martha’s Vineyard; Beaulah E. Perry, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, Osterville; Janis Plaue, Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Wellfleet; Joseph C. Powers, Christ the King Parish, Mashpee; Daniel Regan, St. Elizabeth Seton Parish, North Falmouth; Barbara A. Whelan, St. Pius X Parish, South Yarmouth; James H. Wilson, St. Anthony Parish, East Falmouth; and Alice Zylinski, St. Patrick Parish, Falmouth.

Fall River Deanery

Daniel Alexander, Our Lady of Grace Parish, Westport; Artemesia Anderson, St. Joseph Parish, Fall River; Michael F. Arruda, Holy Trinity Parish, Fall River; Maria Eduarda Barbosa, St. Michael Parish, Fall River; Mary Carol Bouchard, Good Shepherd Parish, Fall River; Fatima Branco, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, Fall River; Joseph M. Brillo, St. Patrick Parish, Somerset; Alda Brum, Santo Christo Parish, Fall River; William J. Conforti, St. Thomas More Parish, Somerset; Josephine Correia, St. John of God Parish, Somerset; Madeleine Grace, St. Mary Cathedral Parish, Fall River.

Also, John Kostka, St. Stanislaus Parish, Fall River; Maurice Levesque, St. Anne Parish, Fall River; Claudette Martin, St. Dominic Parish, Swansea; José A. Medeiros, Espirito Santo Parish, Fall River; Douglas Michaud, St. Bernard Parish, Assonet; Janice Noiseux, St. John the Baptist Parish, Westport; Carol Oliveira, St. Bernadette Parish, Fall River; Christine Patota, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Swansea; Dale Souza, Holy Name Parish, Fall River; Pauline Teixeira, St. Louis de France Parish, Swansea; and Albert Trahan, St. George Parish, Westport.

New Bedford Deanery

Theresa Arruda, St. Rita Parish, Marion; Mary Balestracci, St. Francis Assisi Parish, New Bedford; Eduardo Baptista, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, New Bedford; David Beaulieu, St. Mary Parish, New Bedford; Mary Cardoza, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Acushnet; Robert Comeau, St. Julie Billiart Parish, North Dartmouth; Barbara Connulty, St. Mary Parish, South Dartmouth; Michael Dean, Holy Name of the Sacred Heart Parish, New Bedford; Nelson J. De Frias, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, New Bedford; John R. Duff, St. Anthony Parish, Mattapoisett; Krystyna Dzieciolowski, Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, New Bedford; Ronald Lacasse, St. Joseph Parish, Fairhaven.

Also, Emile J. Lacoste, St. Mary Parish, Fairhaven; Patricia LaFrance, St. Joseph-St. Therese Parish, New Bedford; Pablo Lopez, Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish, New Bedford; Michael J. Murray, Our Lady of Fatima Parish, New Bedford; Teresa Ouellette, St. Lawrence Parish, New Bedford; Antonio M. Pacheco, Immaculate Conception Parish, New Bedford; Alice Rocheleau, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, New Bedford; Stella Sylvester, St. Patrick Parish, Wareham; and Richard Troland, St. John Neumann Parish, East Freetown.

Taunton Deanery

Katherine Carpenter, St. Ann Parish, Raynham; Robert Crossman, St. Andrew the Apostle Parish, Taunton; Grace DiSanto, St. Mary Parish, Taunton; Paul Giorgio, Holy Cross Parish, South Easton; Raymond A. Medeiros, Holy Family Parish, East Taunton; Sandra Raible, Annunciation of the Lord Parish, Taunton; John Rego, St. Anthony Parish, Taunton; Yvonne Richardson, St. Jude the Apostle Parish, Taunton; Theresa Rivet, St. Nicholas of Myra Parish, North Dighton; and Maria Tedesco, Immaculate Conception Parish, North Easton.

Diocese of Fall River
Diocese of Fall River
Office of Communications