FALL RIVER — Bishop Edgar M. da Cunha, S.D.V., will award the Marian Medal to 72 laypersons from parishes throughout the Fall River Diocese at 3 p.m. on Sunday, December 1, at the Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, 327 Second Street, Fall River.

First presented in 1968, the annual award recognizes members of diocesan parishes for their dedicated service to the Church.  Recipients are nominated for the award by their pastor.

The medals will be blessed and presented in the context of Evening Prayer of the Church and Eucharistic Adoration and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament.

Made of sterling silver, the Marian Medal is embossed with a Miraculous Medal on one side and the Fall River Diocesan coat-of-arms on the other.

The Marian Medal Awards Ceremony will be streamed live on the diocesan Facebook page beginning at 3 p.m. on December 1. Please visit www.facebook.com/fallriverdiocese.

The Marian Medal recipients for 2019 are listed below by deanery or area.

Attleboro Deanery

Norman A. Bowlin, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, Seekonk; Thomas J. Davis, Sr., St. Mary Parish, Mansfield; Mary Gill, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Attleboro; Robert Goodreau, St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Parish, South Attleboro; Carol Machado, St. Vincent de Paul Parish, Attleboro; and James B. McEnaney, St. Mary Parish, Norton.

Cape Cod & Islands Deanery

Ignatius Alfano, St. Joan of Arc Parish, Orleans; Judith Barclay, St. Margaret Parish, Buzzard’s Bay; Sally Bold, Christ the King Parish, Mashpee; Peter Codinha, St. Peter the Apostle Parish, Provincetown; Mary Doolin, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, Osterville; Gracieta Duarte, St. Anthony Parish, East Falmouth; Margaret-Anne Fleming, St. Mary/Our Lady of the Isle Parish, Nantucket; Margaret Frederick, St. Patrick Parish, Falmouth; Rebecca Pierce Gallerizzo, St. Pius X Parish, South Yarmouth; John J. Hagenbuch, Jr., Our Lady of the Cape Parish, Brewster; Arlene LeJava, Our Lady of Victory Parish, Centerville; James Schermerhorn, Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Wellfleet; Joan B. Smith, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Pocasset; Eileen Sullivan, Holy Trinity Parish, West Harwich; Wendy Tillman, Good Shepherd Parish, Vineyard Haven; Michael Walker, Corpus Christi Parish, East Sandwich; Howard F. Whelden, Holy Redeemer Parish, Chatham; and Steven Withrow, St. Elizabeth Seton Parish, North Falmouth.

Fall River Deanery

Mary Amaral, St. John of God Parish, Somerset; Norma R. Brandt, Good Shepherd Parish, Fall River; Susan Brillo, St. Patrick Parish, Somerset; Donna Carney, St. Mary’s Cathedral Parish, Fall River; Donna Costa, Holy Name Parish, Fall River; Paula Cullen, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, Fall River; Luis DaPonte, St. Michael Parish, Fall River; Ruth Farias, Holy Trinity Parish, Fall River;

Also, Ann Fennessey, St. Dominic Parish, Swansea; Mary Ferry, St. George Parish, Westport; Emma Fournier, St. Joseph Parish, Fall River; Laurie J. LaRoche, St. Louis de France Parish, Swansea; Susan Lima, St. Thomas More Parish, Somerset; Carlos Machado, Espirito Santo Parish, Fall River; Roger Michaud, Our Lady of Grace Parish, Westport; Sandra L. Sevigney, St. Bernard Parish, Assonet; Maria do Rosario Soares, Santo Christo Parish, Fall River; Denise Toohey, St. John the Baptist Parish, Westport; Mary Anne Tuttle, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Swansea; and Cecilia M. Wroebel, St. Stanislaus Parish, Fall River.

New Bedford Deanery

Suzanne Beaulieu, St. Mary Parish, New Bedford; Kevin Bellavance, St. Joseph-St. Therese Parish, New Bedford; Debbie Caron, St. Lawrence Parish, New Bedford; Joyce L. Clough, St. Julie Billiart Parish, North Dartmouth; Russell Correia, St. Joseph Parish, Fairhaven; David R. Dion, St. Rita Parish, Marion; Laurent Duhamel, St. Mary Parish, South Dartmouth; Isabel Fortes, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, New Bedford; Gerva Halle, Holy Name of the Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish, New Bedford; Rachel Jupin, Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish, New Bedford;

Also, Frederick M. Kalisz, Jr., Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, New Bedford; Susan M. LeBoeuf, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, New Bedford; David Medeiros, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, New Bedford; Maria de Deus Melo, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, New Bedford; Alda Tavares Pacheco, Immaculate Conception Parish, New Bedford; Kathleen A. Saunders, St. Anthony Parish, Mattapoisett; Virginia Shaughnessy, St. Mary Parish, Fairhaven; Susan Silva, St. John Neumann Parish, East Freetown; Donald St. Gelais, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Acushnet; Janice Viera, Our Lady of Fatima Parish, New Bedford; and Francis K. Ward, St. Patrick Parish, Wareham.

Taunton Deanery

Brian Barry, Immaculate Conception Parish, North Easton; Rosemary Burke, Holy Cross Parish, South Easton; Manuel DeSousa, Annunciation of the Lord Parish, Taunton; Stanley Koss, St. Nicholas of Myra Parish, North Dighton; David LeClair, Holy Family Parish, East Taunton; Edward Merritt, St. Ann Parish, Raynham; and Phillip Roberts, St. Andrew the Apostle Parish, Taunton.

The Most Reverend Edgar M. da Cunha, S.D.V., D.D.
The Most Reverend Edgar M. da Cunha, S.D.V., D.D.
The Bishop of Fall River