FALL RIVER — Bishop Edgar M. da Cunha, S.D.V., will award the Marian Medal to 82 laypersons from parishes throughout the Fall River Diocese at 3 p.m. on Sunday, November 19, at the Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, 327 Second Street, Fall River.

First presented in 1968, the annual award recognizes members of diocesan parishes for their dedicated service to the Church.  Recipients are nominated for the award by their pastor.

The medals will be blessed and presented in the context of Evening Prayer of the Church and Eucharistic Adoration and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament.

Made of sterling silver, the Marian Medal is embossed with a Miraculous Medal on one side and the Fall River Diocesan coat-of-arms on the other.

The Marian Medal recipients for 2017 are listed below by deanery or area.

Attleboro Deanery

Ann Allen, St. Mary Parish, North Attleboro; Jean Barrett, St. Mary Parish, Mansfield; John W. Blake, Our Lady Queen of Martyrs Parish, Seekonk; George Boler, St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Parish, South Attleboro; Delores Duquette, St. Vincent de Paul Parish, Attleboro; Robert Fife, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Attleboro; Frank Gibbons, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, Seekonk; Beatrice Melanson, St. Mary Parish, Attleboro Falls; Joanne M. Regali, Sacred Heart Parish, North Attleboro; and Jane Steeves, St. Mary Parish, Norton.

Cape Cod & Islands Deanery

Jeanne Alves, St. Anthony Parish, East Falmouth; Ralph A. Babusci, Jr., Our Lady of Victory Parish, Centerville; Barbara Bowers, Our Lady of the Cape Parish, Brewster; Richard C. Ciotti, Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Wellfleet; Paul Corriveau, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Pocasset; Joseph Cusack, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, Osterville; Paul DeMeo, St. Patrick Parish, Falmouth; Salvatore Ferraioli, Corpus Christi Parish, East Sandwich; Marianne A. Greene, Good Shepherd Parish, Vineyard Haven; Elizabeth B. Kelley, Christ the King Parish, Mashpee; Mary M. Kocot, Holy Trinity Parish, West Harwich; Dennis Lucier, St. Pius X Parish, South Yarmouth; Ronald J. Mador, St. Joan of Arc Parish, Orleans; Virginia Marchand, St. Margaret Parish, Buzzards Bay; Patricia McGoldrick, St. Elizabeth Seton Parish, North Falmouth; Kevin Perry, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Hyannis; Robert Russell, St. Peter the Apostle Parish, Provincetown; Judith Wodynski, St. Mary/Our Lady of the Isle Parish, Nantucket; and Richard Allen Wright, Holy Redeemer Parish, Chatham.

Fall River Deanery

Judith Boucher, St. George Parish, Westport; George Cabral, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, Fall River; Armando V. Camara, St. Mary Cathedral Parish, Fall River; Roland Charron, Our Lady of Grace Parish, Westport; Caroline Cooper, St. John the Baptist Parish, Westport; Lydia M. Costa, Espirito Santo Parish, Fall River; Antonio Cruz, Santo Christo Parish, Fall River; Carlos de Medeiros, Good Shepherd Parish, Fall River; Maria Ferreira, St. John of God Parish, Somerset.

Also, Marguerite Lavoie, Holy Name Parish, Fall River; Nancy Lenon-Robillard, St. Louis de France Parish; Swansea; Judith Lussier, Holy Trinity Parish, Fall River; Lawrence Machado, St. Dominic Parish, Swansea; Paulette Martinville, St. Bernard Parish, Assonet; Francis J. Mullins, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Swansea; Robert Oliveira, St. Joseph Parish, Fall River; Richard Raiche, St Bernadette Parish, Fall River; Janice Rousseau, St. Patrick Parish, Somerset; Elizabeth Schneider, St. Anne Parish, Fall River; Robert Soares, St. Thomas More Parish, Somerset; Anne Varley, St. Stanislaus Parish, Fall River; and Mary Wick, St. Michael Parish, Fall River.

New Bedford Deanery

Paul Baptista, St. Lawrence Parish, New Bedford; John Bastoni, St. John Neumann Parish, East Freetown; Teresina Bettencourt, Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception Parish, New Bedford; Jane Marie Brightman, St. Julie Billiart Parish, Dartmouth; Mark J. Bruce, Holy Name of the Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish, New Bedford; Betty Lou Cabral, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, New Bedford; Jean Carlozzi, St. Patrick Parish, Wareham; Luann M. Connolly, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, New Bedford;  Andrea Corrie, St. Mary Parish, New Bedford; Mary Ellis, St. Mary Parish, South Dartmouth.

Also, Maria dos Anjos Ferreira, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, New Bedford; Kurt Gent, St. Joseph-St. Therese Parish, New Bedford; Michael Gonet, Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, New Bedford; Grace Gwozdz, St. Mary Parish, Fairhaven; Mark Hadley, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Acushnet; William B. Markey, Our Lady of Fatima Parish, New Bedford; Marion Oliveira, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, New Bedford; Carolann Renaux, St. Joseph Parish, Fairhaven; David St. Aubin, St. Rita Parish, Marion; Natalie Taber, St. Anthony Parish, Mattapoisett; and Carol Walsh, Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish, New Bedford.

Taunton Deanery

Marcia Adams, Holy Family Parish, East Taunton; Virginia Amaral, St. Anthony Parish, Taunton; Jeffrey Annunziato, St. Andrew the Apostle Parish, Taunton; Donna Cunha, Holy Cross Parish, South Easton; Donald Emond, St. Nicholas Myra Parish, North Dighton; Shirley Martin, Annunciation of  the Lord Parish, Taunton; Jeffrey Mattson, St. Mary Parish, Taunton; Frederick McCarthy, St. Ann Parish, Raynham; Leo D. McEvoy, Immaculate Conception Parish, North Easton; and Nancy Simmons, St. Jude the Apostle Parish, Taunton.

Diocese of Fall River
Diocese of Fall River
Office of Communications