FALL RIVER — Bishop Edgar M. da Cunha will award the Marian Medal to 79 laypersons from parishes throughout the Fall River Diocese at 3 p.m. on Sunday, November 23, in the Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, 327 Second Street, Fall River.

First presented in 1968, the annual award recognizes members of diocesan parishes for their dedicated service to the Church.  Recipients are nominated for the award by their pastor.

The medals will be blessed and presented during a ceremony of Mid-Afternoon Prayer and Eucharistic Adoration and Benediction.

Made of sterling silver, the Marian Medal is embossed with a Miraculous Medal on one side and the Fall River Diocesan coat-of-arms on the other.

The Marian Medal recipients for 2014 are listed below by deanery or area.

Attleboro Deanery

Dolores Andrews, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, Seekonk; Robert Beaudet, Our Lady Queen of Martyrs Parish, Seekonk; Allen Falconer, St. Mary Parish, Norton; Anne Lonzo, St. Mark Parish, Attleboro Falls; Edward J. Romano, Sacred Heart Parish, North Attleboro; George Silva, St. Vincent de Paul Parish, Attleboro; Karen Smith, St. Mary Parish, North Attleboro; John Soares, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Attleboro; Lucille Stewart, St. Mary Parish, Mansfield; and Carolyn Teixeira, St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Parish, South Attleboro.

Cape Cod & Islands Deanery

Loretta Alves, St. Peter the Apostle Parish, Provincetown; Carmen Elyce Amadeo, Good Shepherd Parish, Martha’s Vineyard; Richard L. Corey, St. Anthony Parish, East Falmouth; Ellen Driscoll, St. Patrick Parish, Falmouth; Mary Fox, Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Wellfleet; Linda Gademan, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, Osterville; Barbara Hadley, Corpus Christi Parish, East Sandwich; Elizabeth Jackson, Our Lady of the Cape Parish, Brewster; Robert Johnson, Holy Trinity Parish, West Harwich; William G. Kelley, Christ the King Parish, Mashpee; Joseph P. Kirby, St. Mary/Our Lady of the Isle Parish, Nantucket; Mary R. Love, St. Pius X Parish, South Yarmouth; Michael Manley, St. Margaret Parish, Buzzards Bay; Constance Murphy, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Pocasset; Bonnie Peterson, Our Lady of Victory Parish, Centerville; Harry Saucier, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Hyannis; Rosalina Soque, St. Elizabeth Seton Parish, North Falmouth; Joan M. Valicenti, St. Joan of Arc Parish, Orleans; and Patricia Vreeland, Holy Redeemer Parish, Chatham.

Fall River Deanery

Lorraine Alves, Our Lady of Grace Parish, Westport; Lucille Bolduc, Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption Parish, Fall River; Daniel R. Boucher, St. George Parish, Westport; Linda Carpenter, St. Dominic Parish, Swansea; Ann Chauvin, St. Louis de France Parish, Swansea; Judy Sardinha DaCosta, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, Fall River; Carol Gagne, St. Joseph Parish, Fall River; Joao Jesus, St. John of God Parish, Somerset; Pauline Jordan, St. Bernadette Parish, Fall River; Ann Marie Keshura, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Swansea; Alice Levesque, Good Shepherd Parish, Fall River; Joana Mateus, Santo Christo Parish, Fall River; Albert Ouellette, St. Patrick Parish, Somerset; Susan Orzeck, St. John the Baptist Parish, Westport; Russell Pichette, Holy Name Parish, Fall River; Mark Rego, Holy Trinity Parish, Fall River; Joseph Reidy, Jr., St. Thomas More Parish, Somerset; Michael Souza, St. Stanislaus Parish, Fall River; Lena Teixeira, St. Anne Parish, Fall River; and Robert Viveiros, St. Bernard Parish, Assonet.

New Bedford Deanery

Sari S. Almeida, Holy Name of the Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish, New Bedford; Daniel Alves, St. John Neumann Parish, East Freetown; Stephen Barriteau, St. Anthony Parish, Mattapoisett; Margaret Boutiette, St. Patrick Parish, Wareham; Mario Braga, St. Mary Parish, New Bedford; Sally Clark, St. Mary Parish, South Dartmouth; Norma Colon, Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish, New Bedford; Joao Ferreira, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, New Bedford; Joanna M. Hunt, Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, New Bedford; Ann Langlois, St. Rita Parish, Marion; Hermano S. Medeiros, Immaculate Conception Parish, New Bedford; Jacqueline I. Medeiros, Our Lady of Fatima Parish, New Bedford; Cynthia L. Mello, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, New Bedford; Donald Mulcare, St. Mary Parish, Fairhaven; Mary Neves, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, New Bedford; Deborah Osuch, St. Joseph Parish, Fairhaven; William Perry, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, New Bedford; Alfred W. Sylvia, Jr., St. Joseph-St. Therese Parish, New Bedford; Sandra Vigeant, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Acushnet; and Robert R. Zeida, St. Julie Billiart Parish, North Dartmouth.

Taunton Deanery

Manuel Arruda, St. Anthony Parish, Taunton; Rosemary Bettencourt, St. Andrew the Apostle Parish, Taunton; Mary Botelho, Annunciation of the Lord Parish, Taunton; Barbara Curran, St. Mary Parish, Taunton; Jill Gurney, St. Nicholas of Myra Parish, North Dighton; Clarence Hassan, Holy Cross Parish, South Easton; Patricia Latimer, St. Ann Parish, Raynham; Maureen E. Papineau, Immaculate Conception Parish, North Easton; Mary Joyce Phillips, Holy Family Parish, East Taunton; and Doris Riendeau, St. Jude the Apostle Parish, Taunton.

Diocese of Fall River
Diocese of Fall River
Office of Communications